HSF gives its opinion on the sale of 60% of the capital of Lal Lal Wind Farms in Victoria

Herbert Smith Freehills advised Macquarie Asset Management’s green investment group and investment manager InfraRed Capital Partners on the sale of a 60% stake in Victoria’s Lal Lal Wind Farms to Igneo Infrastructure Partners.

Macquarie Capital Australia was the financial adviser to the competitive process for the assets, which include Yendon Wind Farm (144MW) and Elaine Wind Farm (84MW).

The Herbert Smith Freehills team included Partner and Head of Energy (Australia) Nick Baker, Senior Partner Maddison Hardiman and Solicitor Sarah-Anne Butler.

Herbert Smith Freehills advised the sponsors on the asset lifecycle throughout the procurement and construction phase with a team comprising Alison Dodd, Heidi Asten, Clare Smethurst and Kimberly Lean, and Elizabeth Charlesworth advised the project funding.

With this transaction, Herbert Smith Freehills continues to demonstrate its leadership in the energy market, having recently advised:

  • bp on the acquisitions of a stake of around 40% in the 26 GW Asian renewable energy cluster project;
  • shareholders of wind farm developer Epuron in their sale of Epuron to Ark Energy, owned by Korea Zinc;
  • Pacific Partnerships, a member of the CIMIC Group, for the acquisition of the 125 MW Glenrowan Solar Farm Development in Victoria from Esco Pacific and the project on its successful VRET2 proposal;
  • Brookfield, HOOPP, AIMCO, IMCO and Australian Retirement Trust in connection with their acquisition of Ausnet;
  • bp on its shift to offshore wind power in partnership with Equinor and the development of its Kwinana hub; and
  • ENGIE in connection with the creation of the Australian Renewable Energy Trust (“ARET”) and the sale of a 75% stake in ARET to the Australian Renewables Income Fund, managed by Infrastructure Capital Group.

/Public release. This material from the original organization/authors may be ad hoc in nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the authors.